/dist/images/branding/favicon

Interesting problems/missing pieces to overcome I've discovered so far...

Discussion in 'MōVI M10' started by J Griffin Ricker, Sep 12, 2013.

1. J Griffin Ricker

Definitely need a Spektrum/Ninja(or whatever) combo holder for the operator. If somebody wants to make them, I'll buy one.

RedRock MicroRemote cables are entirely too heavy, too stiff and too short. Really just need a longer, thinner version of the cable that goes from the lens motor to the base station. Also need a legit LiPo to Redrock base station Power cable.

Lenses that extend and retract to focus throw everything completely out of balance - for example the Zeiss ZF 2's. The 35mm is the most drastic example I've found thus far.

I'm an experienced Steadicam operator and this is significantly more complicated. I get it, it's great but there are so many moving pieces, understanding of software, balancing, LiPo care etc that I don't see any way you could just hand it over to somebody as a rental and expect them to be happy or not to break something. As a rental you'd also have to provide a ludicrous amount of ancillary gear to make it all work and have 3 people to operate. I don't want to say it's under sold - I knew exactly what it was going to be - but I think on the surface to people it looks like it's a simple one man show. Far from it. There's a guy in another thread that wants to rent one to take somewhere far, far away and after one day with it, I don't know how that would work. (Not really a problem with a good solution, it's more of an observation).

Need an adjustable hot shoe mount option on the top for Zoom H4/6's and/or digital tape measures.

Could also use some instructions for a few of the pieces that come in the kit. Google sorted it out mostly but some things I'm still not sure of like; What is the thin black cable in the bag for?