/dist/images/branding/favicon

Canon 6D vs 5D mark iii

Discussion in 'Cameras' started by Keith Colodny, Aug 22, 2013.

1. Keith Colodny

Keith Colodny Member

I have done more research than I care to admit on this. If I wait any longer to pull the trigger there will be a newer model out anyway! I do not see ANY reason AT ALL why the more expensive 5D MK3 is better than the 6D for video from my Cinestar. Any Opinions??

2. Maxis Gamez

Maxis Gamez Member

As a pro photographer I can assure you that the 5DMKIII kills the 6D with AF performance. Sensor wise both are very similar. However, for filming you normally set your AF to manual and infinity with a wide angle, so the 5DMKIII is an over kill unless you convert it to a 4K body which is currently producing unbelievable footage. Some argue as good as the much more expensive Red.

I have both and if I were to do it all over again, I would still get the 5DMKIII.

Good luck!

3. Brad McGiveron

Brad McGiveron Active Member

There is much less aliasing with the 5D3 and a lot with 6D. The 6D video is very comparable to the 5D2 and full of moire and other aliased artifacts. Not very good for deep focus shots.
    4K body ? Not sure I understand...
    You mean with ML Raw I assume ?

4. Keith Colodny

Keith Colodny Member

Thanks. I have read everything about the Moire effect and realize that the 5Dmk3 has anti aliasing but I shoot alot with the Sony FS700 and I see aliasing in that footage as well. The focal points don't mean much to me as I always shoot in manual. The $1500 difference is a nice lens......I am not sure what you mean by 4k body either but you have peaked my curiosity! Now THAT would be a reason to get the 5D!

5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Check out the results of a Google search for: 5D 4K

Andy.

6. Michael McVay

Michael McVay Active Member