/dist/images/branding/favicon

Video interference and blackout

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Chris Babiana, Apr 2, 2013.

1. Chris Babiana

Chris Babiana Member

I have a Passport Diversity 5.8 receiver and a stinger Pro 250w 5.8 AVD Transmitter. I am constantly getting static and at times, total video black out. I've tried moving the transmitter to different locations with the same results. It's being powered off the main battery, a QC8000mAh.
    Would a separate power source or lobe antennas clear up this issue? I have a 2 axis gimbal.

Heres a short video showing the drop out. This is constantly happening.

Thanks!

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Chris:

I'm surprised to see that much interference when you've only got a few feet between the Tx and Rx. You might consider these steps to improve the situation -- and you are obviously already thinking about them:

1. Using a BEC to provide a clean source of power to the Video Tx rather than having it on the main flight battery. There's a fair amount of noise sizzling on the main power feed.

2. Move to the lobe antennas -- e.g. Blue Beam.

If the problem persists that would tend to point at a problem elsewhere in the system (e.g. camera, display, or wiring). If you happen to have a spare camera or display, it would be good to swap them out just to see if they're the cause.

Andy.

3. Chris Babiana

Chris Babiana Member

Hi Andy.
    I've ruled out cameras and displays/connections. I was experiencing this on my 5DMKII so I switched over to the FPV cam...same results. Besides the monitor in the video I uploaded, I also have a 7" Marshall mounted on the MX-20...again, same results.
    Finally, I took the heat shrink off and separated the power and video lines . I thought that this might be causing interference (l know to never lay power lines over audio lines...bad static), but still the same.
    Which BEC and battery would you recommend?

4. Gary Haynes