/dist/images/branding/favicon

Software Install Issue.

Discussion in 'Radian' started by Mike Hagadorn, Feb 1, 2013.

1. Mike Hagadorn

Mike Hagadorn Member

Trying to install Radian setup software on a PC.

Got it to install then get a invalid port 10 alert.

Is this an issue?

Thanks for any info.

Cheers
    Mike Hagadorn
    CLM

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Mike did you get this after you started the software or during the install? If it was after the you started the software you just need to manually configure the COM port to a valid COM port. At least I'm hoping that is the only issue. You can check the COM port with the Manage Computer function in Windows.

3. Mike Hagadorn

Mike Hagadorn Member

fixed!

Thanks Gary!

There will probly be a slew of questions comiming from me as I am a Radian noob.

Thanks for the quick response.

cheers
    mike

4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Just to augment what Gary said, which Windows OS are you running, Mike? XP, 7, or 8?
    If it's XP, did you install the Virtual COM port drivers (7 and 8 do it automagically for you)?

In the Device Manager, when you have the cable connected to a Radian sensor, under the section COM & LPT, you should see a USB Serial Device with a COM port number assigned to it. If you have that, then set the Radian software to that COM Port number.

if you do not see a USB Serial Device, then you need to stop and fix that problem. All bets on using the Radian software are null and void and illegal in most States.

When changing the Radian software to use the correct port number grows old (and it will because you have to do this every time you use the Radian software), you can follow this procedure to assign COM 10 to the USB Serial Device: http://www.raveon.com/data_radio_info/usb-port-assignments-461/ (starting with "To force the FTDI driver software assign the same COM port number.")

Andy.

5. Mike Hagadorn