/dist/images/branding/favicon

Pics of hacking a cordless phone system for Comms.

Discussion in 'MōVI M10' started by Ben Huddleston, Oct 27, 2013.

1. Ben Huddleston

So I just hacked the Panasonic DECT 6.0 plus base station to make the phones work out in the wilds as a PL system so I can communicate with operators. I just mimicked what I saw the Freefly guys doing, and here are a few pics of how it all worked out. For the record, I am not an engineer, and you do all this at your own risk.

Cordless phone sets need a "base station" in order for them to work as comms between the handsets. Normally the base station is in your home plugged into the wall at the main phone. Here I dismantled that main base station and put the guts in a small plastic box that can be slipped in a pocket or velcroed to the Tx rig if you like.

Here's the base station before:

[​IMG]

It's not really production friendly in this form. It needs 110v AC power, it's big, and there's nowhere to put it. Luckily, the guts that make it work are pretty small. Four screws and it's open; I just clipped off the red and black leads that charge the handset. (I bought a 3-handset kit, so I have the other two handset chargers.)

[​IMG]