/dist/images/branding/favicon

Alta 6 with FrSky D4R-II receiver?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Brian Merrill, Sep 28, 2017.

1. Brian Merrill

Brian Merrill New Member

Hi everyone. I'm trying to help a friend with his Alta 6 drone. He wants to use a FrSky D4R-II receiver and I'm trying to help by figuring out the connections. I'm new to this field and even with the reading I've been able to find I'm still confused if that receiver will work and how to connect it? The materials all assume you know the connector names and such...

I can see how to upgrade the firmware on the D4R-II to have it use 8 channels and output CPPM which seems reasonable, but not sure about the drone connections.

Anyone know any good reference material for this?

Thanks,
    Brian

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Brian:
    I don't believe there are any reference materials published, but worse yet, I rather doubt that you are going to be able to get the D4R-II to work correctly. You might want to consider opening up a ticket by sending an email to Freefly Support (support@freeflysystems.com) and see if you can get answers though.

Andy

Forensic Software & sUAV / Drone Analyst : Photographer : Videographer : Pilot (Portland, Oregon, USA): Trees=2, Ground=1, Props=11. :(
    The Ground Is The Limitâ„¢
    ---------- Forensic Drone Analyst : Forensic sUAV Analyst : Forensic Unmanned Aircraft Analyst : Forensic Drone Expert

3. Brian Merrill

Brian Merrill New Member

Hi Andy. Why do you think the D4R-II will not work correctly with the Alta? I'm a bit out of my field with RC vehicles so I've had to read up a lot lately. The D4R-II puts out a PPM signal which the Alta is supposed to be able to read. I know it's only an 8-channel receiver but that should be enough for it to work. I will see if the people I'm helping can talk to Freefly Support as they have been trying to do a lot by themselves and can probably use the help.

Brian