/dist/images/branding/favicon

Alta 6/Movi 5 for photography, practical with single radio setup?

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by Lyle Krannichfeld, May 21, 2017.

1. Lyle Krannichfeld

Lyle Krannichfeld New Member

Aloha,

Hoping I can get some insight on some basic questions if possible. First, quickly my use. I'm a photographer, primarily want to shoot stills. I have the Canon 5ds R (essentially the same as a 5d3), will eventually switch to Sony to get full camera control. I will be using it SOLO 100% of the time. Transporting, flying, shooting.

First, is it practical to try and use a single radio? How many channels do I need? 14 workable or is 16 going to be necessary? Would you still suggest two screens, one fpv camera and one camera view?

Looks like I'll need to do this, as outlined by Gary: http://forum.freeflysystems.com/index.php?threads/spare-channel-output.2417/ (Is this doable with other gimbals as well or just Movi specifically?)

Second, is it safe to do so? Is the rx diversity gained by using 2 rx for Alta important? I'll be flying regularly over the ocean at the limits of the connex fusion. Obviously convenience for transport and keeping gear to a minimum is good, and I like the thought of having the flight radio in my hands at all times...but I also clearly don't want to lose/crash the rig.

Lastly any thoughts on drawbacks of either setup, suggestions, concerns, thoughts, equipment to look at etc is greatly appreciated. I've gone through this over and over and have come to the conclusion that (if I can afford it) the Alta/Movi is almost ideal for me (though I'm crazy burned out and confused at this point). It's reasonably transportable by myself (I'm thinking rig in one hand, ground station in the other, and a backpack), reliable, and can give me the shutter control until I switch to Sony. The only drawback I see is traveling with the batteries but I guess if that really becomes mandatory I can work around it.