/dist/images/branding/favicon

FIZ Motors?

Discussion in 'MōVI Pro' started by Mark Moritz, Jan 15, 2017.

1. Mark Moritz

Mark Moritz New Member

Hi guys. I'm new to the Movi world. Well, not even yet as I am going to be ordering the Movi Pro this week. I'm confused though. It's saying integrated FIZ controllers. Are there actually motors integrated that come with the Movi Pro for focus, iris, & zoom control? It doesn't look like it by the pictures and i've been trying to figure it out.
    I've been using the Ronin with the Redrock Wireless Microfocus system. Does the Movi Pro come with the integrated motors so that i would NOT have to use the redrock anymore?

Sorry for the newbie question, but as far as Movi goes, I am a newbie!

Thank you

2. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

Hi Mark, welcome to the Forum. The Movi Pro is an awesome machine! I can totally understand why you might be confused about the integrated FIZ.

You would have to supply the motors and buy the cables from Freefly, but there is an integrated 'brain' on the Movi that can receive FIZ motor commands -- basically the receiver for a wireless focus system. According to Freefly's knowledge base, it can work with Redrock, Heden, and Hocus motors. The cables plug in underneath the camera to a little control box called the Tilt Stage Unit. There are ports on there for Focus, Iris, Zoom, DTap Power, and camera control. You'll see these Molex cables in the Freefly store:

http://store.freeflysystems.com/collections/movi-pro/products/movi-pro-lens-motor-cable

At the moment, there is only one wireless controller\Handset option for those motors: the Movi Controller. It's not particularly convenient for many of us who work on set with camera assistants\focus pullers. I'm still using my Bartech\FStop\Heden motor system and powering it with a Lipo battery from my old Movi M15 kit.