/dist/images/branding/favicon

M10MR + Epic + X8 - shaking

Discussion in 'MōVI MR' started by Nejc Slatner, Apr 2, 2015.

1. Nejc Slatner

Nejc Slatner New Member

I am new to Movi and I have Red Epic with Canon 24mm with IS lens on my X8. I have a plate with 8 rubber dampeners with 4x blue and 2x black rings in the middle on one dampener.

There was some wind when this was shot, but in my opinion footage is rubbish. Pan and tilt look solid, but roll is shaking. What could I change and where to begin with tuning?

2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Have you turned off IS in the lens? I might try repeating your experiment without the IS turned on. I've spoken to some engineering folks who have said that the IS in some lenses can be confused by the motion of a copter and cause some oscillation. I never enable IS when flying.

3. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Nejic i'll ask and you may have done all of this but prop balance checked, motor bell balance (getting pretty deep into balancing), checking the compression on the O-rings (hang the copter or support the arms and see whether you have any binding or to much compression on the O-rings) which may change you up to more blacks rings. Mount a GoPro and watch the gimbal and look to see if you are getting the vibration from the frame or the gimbal.

It can be a bit, ok a lot, of trial and error to get it dialed in. Back in the Radian days I did this for one axis at a time. Really took some testing and time to get it as best as possible.

4. Nejc Slatner

Nejc Slatner New Member

Steve, with the IS off there is not much difference, only tilt axis becomes less stable.

Gary, will check all that again, but I had Alexmos gimbal (identical build as movi) and the same camera setup with IS on before and I had more smooth video. So I don't think there are issues on the copter above the O-rings. I have retracts, so no landing gear on the gimbal.