/dist/images/branding/favicon

Taking off from a boat

Discussion in 'Cinestar Misc' started by Dave King, Jul 24, 2014.

1. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

For those that have MK electronics that have launched from a boat can you tell me how you have done this? Do you need to set the ACC (left joystick upper left) on flat land or do you do it on a rocky boat where the level could be anything? I have never done this before and have always been intrigued on how this is pulled off?

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Dave:
    The ACC needs to be calibrate (usually only once) with the FC board level. You do not need to recalibrate it -- although I tend to do so whenever I do an FC firmware upgrade.

The gyro calibration that you need to do before you can start the motors is, according to Mikrokopter, something that needs to be done when the copter is on the ground and not moving or shaking. See http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/Erstinbetriebnahme/Step12

There have been other threads on this topic though -- so I'd have a quick look for boat, or ship (although you get quite a few hits in the context of shipping Lipos etc).

Andy.

3. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

Thanks for the reply. Sorry I meant Gyro calibraiton only. Not sure how you can properly set it and launch safely from a boat. I will search.

4. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

One of the things you can do when you run dual batteries like we do is replace the batteries one at a time when you land, leaving the copter constantly powered on. I have done that for other reasons, and it works fine. That may address the issue of bobbing around on a boat. The MōVI has a provision for this for circumstances where you just want to remember the last good calibration. Once you're in the air, it should be fine.